Kiltegan Village

08 Kiltegan Humewood Castle and Lake.jpg
08 Kiltegan Humewood Castle pic Curious Ireland.jpg
08 Kiltegan The Green.jpg
IMG_7087.jpg
IMG_7089.jpg
IMG_7090.jpg
IMG_7093.jpg
IMG_7096.jpg
IMG_7091.jpg
IMG_4253-001.JPG
IMG_9257-001.JPG
IMG_9275-001.JPG

Title

Kiltegan Village

Creator

ActiveMe

Source

Deirdre Burns

Publisher

Wicklow County Council

GPS Location

52.904409, -6.606733

Short Interpretive Text

Kiltegan is a picturesque village laid out around a crossroads on the road between Hacketstown and Baltinglass. The entrance to the impressive Humewood Castle is located in the centre of the village, while a small lane leads up to St. Peter’s Church of Ireland parish church, built in 1806. Its surrounding graveyard includes mausoleums for the Humes of Humewood and the Westbys of High Park.

Interpretive Text

Kiltegan , or Chill Tagáin in Irish, translates as the church of Tegáin, who was thought to be a companion of St. Patrick and St. Fiacc. While the origins of this picturesque village are possibly monastic, the current cluster of buildings date from the 18th to 19th centuries.
The 1798 rebel leader Michael Dwyer surrendered in December 1803 to William Hoare Hume at another entrance to Humewood on the Three Bridges road north of Kiltegan. Hume’s father, William, had been killed by the rebel John Moore in 1798. William Hoare Hume married Charlotte Dick, a member of a wealthy family of Dublin merchants. Their son William W.F. Hume succeeded to the Dick fortune in 1864, conditional on his also assuming the surname. He set about replacing his country residence with a grander building. As a result, the present Humewood Castle, an impressive Neo-Gothic structure of local dark granite, was built in the late 1860s. It was designed by the English architect William White and built by Albert Kimberley, another Englishman. Kimberley won the contract with a tender for less than £14,000, but construction cost £25,000. There followed a protracted legal battle between William W.F. Dick and Kimberley, which the latter won.
The last member of the Hume family associated with the property was Catherine M.M. Weygand, who lived in Paris but visited Humewood regularly. Her father-in-law was Maxime Weygand, the French army officer who played prominent roles in both World Wars. General Weygand was a visitor to Humewood in his later years. Mme. Weygand died in 1991, leaving a generous financial legacy to the people of Kiltegan. The ‘castle’ is in private ownership an continues to exert a physical presence on Kiltegan and surrounding area owing to the presence of stne estate walls, lodges , gates, Mature trees and hedgerows, all of which contribute greatly to its historic character.
High Park, an estate about 2km east of Kiltegan, was the residence of the Westby family from the eighteenth to the early twentieth century. It was acquired by John Hughes, a merchant who gave it to St. Patrick’s Missionary Society in the 1930s. It became St. Patrick’s, the Irish headquarters for the Society, whose missionary work began in Nigeria but spread throughout Africa and beyond. Today St. Patrick’s includes Slí an Chroí [http://www.spms.org/sli-an-chroi], a centre with accommodation for individuals or groups of any persuasion, providing a quiet reflective place of rest. The spacious grounds have walks that are often used by locals and visitors.

Parking Available

Yes

Category of Interest

Cultural, Architectural, Historical,

County

Wicklow

Nearest Town

Baltinglass

Geolocation

Social Bookmarking

Comments

Citation

ActiveMe, “Kiltegan Village,” Lakeside Heritage Trail, Blessington Lake, accessed December 6, 2019, https://wicklowheritage.omeka.net/items/show/41.